Hunger Leadership Awards 2021
Our annual celebration of exemplary leaders in the fight to end hunger and poverty will take place virtually on
Wednesday, July 21, 2021.


Meet Our Award Recipients

Logo of C&S Wholesale Grocers

C&S Wholesale Grocers

Corporate Partner Hunger Leadership Award

Photo of Alexandra Cawthorne Gaines

Alexandra Cawthorne Gaines

Alum Hunger Leadership Award

Logo of Poor People's Campaign

Poor People's Campaign

Community Partner Hunger Leadership Award

Blank Image

Coming Soon!

More Award Recipients Announced in June


Sponsor the 2021 Hunger Leadership Awards

Learn more about the benefits of sponsorship and how your support contributes to the Hunger Center's mission in our 2021 Sponsorship Prospectus.
When you're ready, make a sponsorship pledge using our online form. Deadline to sponsor is June 18, 2021.
Questions about sponsorship? Contact Development Coordinator Kiana Kelly at [email protected] or (202) 547-7022 x19.

2021 Hunger Leadership Awards Sponsors

The Congressional Hunger Center would like to express our gratitude to the following generous sponsors of the 2021 Hunger Leadership Awards.









Alliance to End Hunger

Bunge North America

Feeding America

Food Research & Action Center (FRAC)

Karen Coble Edwards

National Grocers Association

SNAC International

Eric J. Steiner

The Sugar Association

Interested in becoming a 2021 Hunger Leadership Awards Sponsor? Contact Development Coordinator Kiana Kelly today.

Get Involved

Check back soon to see how you can be part of this year's ceremony!

Past Award recipients

We present outstanding leaders from the U.S. government and the nonprofit sector with the Bill Emerson & Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award for their significant contributions in fighting hunger in the U.S. and around the world.

Chef José Andrés

Senator Roy Blunt

Senator John Boozman

Paul Carothers

Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.

Senator Thad Cochran

USDA Under Secretary Kevin Concannon

Representative Rosa DeLauro

Senator Elizabeth Dole

Senator Dick Durbin

Representative Jo Ann Emerson

Representative Sam Farr

Deborah A. Frank, MD, Founder Children’s HealthWatch

Senator Al Franken

Representative Marcia Fudge

USDA Secretary Dan Glickman

Ambassador Tony Hall

Senator Tom Harkin

Senator Johnny Isakson

Representative Lynn Jenkins

David Kantor

Senator Herb Kohl

Representative John Lewis

Senator Richard G. Lugar

Marshall Matz

Representative Betty McCollum

Joan McGlockton and the Sodexo Stop Hunger Foundation

Representative James P. McGovern

Mary Jane Melendez and the General Mills Foundation

Manly Molpus

Representative Gwen Moore

Senator Jerry Moran

Representative Donald M. Payne

Representative Collin Peterson

Representative Chellie Pingree

Senator Pat Roberts

Representative Bobby Scott

Representative Chris Smith

Senator Debbie Stabenow

Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack

Representative Jackie Walorski

Representative Frank Wolf

Senator Todd Young

We also recognize outstanding alums from the Bill Emerson National and Mickey Leland International Fellowships for their continued dedication to promote food security in the U.S. and around the world.

Ashley Aakesson

Giselle Aris

Damiana Astudillo

Lindsey R. Baker

Kate Bolz

Cara Brumfield

Indivar Dutta-Gupta

Anne-Claire Hervy

Carmen Jaquez

Michael Johnson

Shana McDavis Conway

Adam Norikane

Tammy Palmer

Shane Murphy Goldsmith

Javier Silva

Richard H. Stolz

Christine Tran

Emily Wei

Thank You

To our award recipients, and to all our sponsors, attendees, partners, and supporters, thank you for sharing our belief that hunger is solvable, and for all that you do to create a hunger-free world.