The Hunger Leadership Awards

This annual event brings together leaders from government, philanthropy, the private sector, and the wider anti-hunger community to applaud distinguished leaders whose vision and commitment are paving the way to achieving zero hunger, both in the U.S. and around the world.

2019 Hunger Leadership Awards Recipients

The Hunger Leadership Awards is an annual celebration of the dedication of exemplary leaders in the fight to end hunger and poverty.

Each year distinguished leaders are chosen for their significant contributions to fighting hunger. They embody the determination necessary to make hunger and poverty a focal point of U.S. policy at home and globally. Meet the awards recipients for the 2019 Hunger Leadership Awards.

U.S. Senator Todd Young

Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award

The Hunger Center is honored to present Senator Todd Young with the 2019 Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award for being an outspoken advocate for a negotiated peace process to end the humanitarian crisis and advance the goal of peace in Yemen.

Todd Young

U.S. Representative Collin Peterson

(Minnesota, 7th District)
Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award

The Hunger Center is honored to present Representative Collin Peterson with the 2019 Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award for his leadership on the Agriculture Committee and protecting the most critical domestic anti-hunger program from immense cuts in the 2018 Farm Bill.

Collin Peterson

Sodexo Stop Hunger Foundation

Accepted by Joan McGlockton, Associate General Counsel and Vice President
Corporate Partner Hunger Leadership Award

The Hunger Center is honored to present the Sodexo Stop Hunger Foundation with the 2019 Corporate Partner Hunger Leadership Award for its stalwart support of the Congressional Hunger Center since 2000. Sodexo and the Hunger Center share a unique understanding and commitment to the important role young people play in our ability to end hunger by 2030. Over the past 18 years, Sodexo has granted nearly $850,000 to our programs, increasing the Hunger Center’s ability to innovate and expand our impact including the launch of our Zero Hunger Initiative.

Joan McGlockton

Adam Norikane

Mickey Leland International Hunger Fellow Alum
Congressional Hunger Center Alum Hunger Leadership Award

The Hunger Center is honored to present Adam Norikane with the 2019 Alum Hunger Leadership Award for his outstanding commitment to the fight against hunger. Adam is a model of the kind of devotion and leadership we hope all Hunger Fellows will go on to exhibit.

Adam Norikane

Dora Martinez

Community Food Bank of Southern Arizona
Emerson National Hunger Fellowship Field Supervisor of the Year Award

The Hunger Center is honored to present Dora Martinez with the Field Supervisor of the Year Award for her outstanding work and leadership as well as guidance and mentorship to Emerson National Hunger Fellows. Dora is an example of how a supervisor can demonstrate the type of leadership that we hope to cultivate in our Hunger Fellows.

Dora Martinez

2019 Hunger Leadership Awards Sponsors

The Congressional Hunger Center would like to express our gratitude to the following generous sponsors of the 2019 Hunger Leadership Awards.














Albertsons Companies Foundation

The Alliance to End Hunger

American Bakers Association

Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Bread for the World Institute

Dan Glickman

Feeding America

Food Resource and Action Center

Global Child Nutrition Foundation

Marshall & Debbie Matz

Michael Torrey Associates, LLC

National Biodiesel Board

National Corn Growers Association

National Farmers Union

North American Millers’ Association

SNAC International

Eric J. Steiner

Students Team Up to Fight Hunger

Watson Green LLC

Would your organization like to be a 2020 sponsor? Learn more about Sponsorship Benefits.

Honorary Host Committee

Roy Blunt

Roy Blunt

John Boozman

John Boozman

Pat Roberts

Pat Roberts

Debbie Stabenow

Debbie Stabenow

Marcia Fudge

Marcia Fudge

Sheila Jackson Lee

Sheila Jackson Lee

James P. McGovern

James P. McGovern

Gwen Moore

Gwen Moore

Jackie Walorski

Jackie Walorski

Kevin Concannon

Former Under Secretary
Kevin Concannon

Tony Hall

Tony Hall


Host Committee

Savannah Block

Dan Christenson

Ed Cooney

Katharine Emerson

Marie Lawrence

Marshall Matz

Peter Matz

Matt Perin

Jim Scheibel

Eric Silva

William Tatum

Mary Catherine Toker

Past Award recipients

We present outstanding leaders from the U.S. government and the nonprofit sector with the Bill Emerson & Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award for their significant contributions in fighting hunger in the U.S. and around the world.

Chef José Andrés

Senator Roy Blunt

Senator John Boozman

Paul Carothers

Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.

Senator Thad Cochran

USDA Under Secretary Kevin Concannon

Representative Rosa DeLauro

Senator Elizabeth Dole

Senator Dick Durbin

Representative Jo Ann Emerson

Representative Sam Farr

Deborah A. Frank, MD, Founder Children’s HealthWatch

Senator Al Franken

Representative Marcia Fudge

USDA Secretary Dan Glickman

Ambassador Tony Hall

Senator Tom Harkin

Senator Johnny Isakson

Representative Lynn Jenkins

David Kantor

Senator Herb Kohl

Representative John Lewis

Senator Richard G. Lugar

Marshall Matz

Representative Betty McCollum

Representative James P. McGovern

Mary Jane Melendez and the General Mills Foundation

Manly Molpus

Representative Gwen Moore

Senator Jerry Moran

Representative Donald M. Payne

Representative Chellie Pingree

Senator Pat Roberts

Representative Bobby Scott

Representative Chris Smith

Senator Debbie Stabenow

Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack

Representative Jackie Walorski

Representative Frank Wolf

We also recognize outstanding alums from the Bill Emerson National and Mickey Leland International Fellowships for their continued dedication to promote food security in the U.S. and around the world.

Ashley Aakesson

Giselle Aris

Damiana Astudillo

Lindsey R. Baker

Kate Bolz

Cara Brumfield

Indivar Dutta-Gupta

Anne-Claire Hervy

Carmen Jaquez

Michael Johnson

Shana McDavis Conway

Tammy Palmer

Shane Murphy Goldsmith

Javier Silva

Richard H. Stolz

Christine Tran

Emily Wei

Icons designed by Freepik for Flaticon