Sen. Roy Blunt to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Awards, Updates

We are pleased to announce that Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri will receive the 2021 Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Lifetime Achievement Award. Sen. Blunt will be recognized along with C&S Wholesale Grocers, Hunger Fellow alum Alexandra Cawthorne Gaines, The Poor People's Campaign, and Janie Simms Hipp at the 2021 Hunger Leadership Awards, our annual celebration of outstanding leadership in the movement to end hunger. This event brings together government, philanthropy, the private sector, and the wider anti-hunger community to recognize distinguished leaders whose vision and commitment are paving the way to achieving zero hunger in the U.S. and around the world. Join us for this year's celebration from 12-1:30 pm ET on July 21, 2021.

Bill Emerson & Mickey Leland Lifetime Achievement Award

Photo of Sen. Roy Blunt

The Bill Emerson and Mickey Leland Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has shown strong leadership in promoting U.S. and global food security throughout their career. This year we recognize U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), who has embodied the bipartisan spirit and dedication to ending hunger shared by the award’s namesakes throughout his tenure in Congress.

Born in Niangua, Missouri, Senator Blunt began his career as a teacher and university professor. Senator Blunt's Senate career has been marked with strong bipartisan cooperation and a longstanding commitment to fighting hunger and child nutrition. In 2019, Senator Blunt sponsored the Global Child Thrive Act, which passed into law earlier this year. The legislation strengthens implementation of policies that advance early childhood development in all child-focused foreign assistance programs. In June 2021, Senator Blunt joined in sponsoring the Hunger-Free Summer for Kids Act, which would give the USDA more flexibility in delivering the Summer Food Service Program.

The people of Southwest Missouri overwhelmingly elected Senator Blunt seven times to the U.S. House of Representatives, beginning with his first term in 1996; he was first elected to the U.S. Senate in 2010. Senator Blunt was elected the Majority Whip earlier in his career than any Member of Congress in eight decades and was elected to the Senate leadership in his first year in the Senate. A fifth-generation Missourian and the first person in his family to graduate from college, before he entered politics Senator Blunt also served four years as the president of Southwest Baptist University in Bolivar, Missouri. Senator Blunt is married to Abigail Blunt and has four children and six grandchildren.

We gratefully acknowledge the following sponsors, whose support makes the 2021 Hunger Leadership Awards possible:


PepsiCo Logo
General Mills Logo


AARP Foundation Logo
Kraft Heinz Logo
Share Our Strength Logo
Walmart Logo


Amazon Logo
American Beverage Association Logo
Bayer Logo
Cargill Logo


Coca Cola Company Logo
American Farm Bureau Federation Logo
Food Industry Association Logo
Michael Torrey Associates Logo
World Food Program USA Logo



Alliance to End Hunger

Bread for the World

Bunge North America

Feeding America

Food Research & Action Center (FRAC)

Karen Coble Edwards

Lou Gerber

Kate Houston

National Corn Growers Association

National Farmers Union

National Grocers Association

Ria Shah

SNAC International

Eric J. Steiner

The Sugar Association

Jim Weill

World Cocoa Foundation

More Like This